Basic Scientists are the foundation of biomedical research world-wide. Scientists enable understanding of fundamental disease processes, their pathogenesis and diagnosis of vast majority of diseases and conditions afflicting millions of people and crops round the globe. However, the challenge lies in the transference of this discovery into treating diseases in humans and crops using these methods and then using knowledge gained to improve health care policy.

To be able to do the latter it requires scientists in various disciplines of life sciences such as medical sciences, microbiology, biochemistry, mathematics, engineering, physical and computer sciences etc. The ultimate goal of translational research is for the improvement of human health which is beneficial to all including the non-scientists. However in Africa, part of the challenges faced stem from scientific, cultural, institutional and policy, making it difficult for basic scientists to collaborate and conduct translational research.

The idea of the conference is to bring together scientists from Germany and Nigeria interested in basic, applied and translational research.

Humboldt Committees

Dr. S. I. Smith

Scientific Committee
Professor M.O. Ilori – Chair
Dr. T.O. Fadipe – Asst. Chair
Mr. A. Ajayi – Member
Dr. S. I. Smith – Member

Dr. O. Adebesin – Chair
Dr. G. Ilori – Member
Mr. O. Adeneye – Member
Mrs. M. Uwandu – Member
Mr. O. Afolabi – Member
Ms. O. Awoderu – Member

Logistics /Transport Committee
Engr. E. Adedeji – Chair
Mr. O. S. Amoo – Co Chair
Mr. J. Yisau – Member
Mr. M. Bamidele – Member
Mr. N. Akinfenwa – Member

ICT Committee
Mrs. O. Nwogbe – Chair
Mr. D. Johnson – Member
Mr. E. Ijoga – Member
Mrs. M. Amaka – Member
Miss. T. Abdulkareem – Member

Secretariat/Registration Committee
Dr. T. Fadipe – Chair
Miss. E. Essien – Vice Chair
Mrs. T. Fesobi – Member
Mrs. T. Jolaiya – Member

Mrs. T. Asemota – Chair
Mrs. O. Egbuaba – Member
Ms E. Ajakaiye – Member
Ms Juliet Ilikannu – Member

LISTEN TO THE Event Speakers

Prof. Babatunde L. Salako. MBBS (Ib), FWACP, FRCP (Edin), FRCP (Lond), NMIM

Director-General/Chairman & Chief Host, Nigerian Institute of Medical Research

Prof. George O. Akpede. MBBS, FWACP, FMCPaed

Plenary Speaker

Prof. Akinola E. Abayomi. MBBS Lond, MRCP UK, FRCP Edin, MPhil UP, FCPath SA

Keynote Speaker

Prof. Matthew O. Ilori. FAS, FAvH (Germany), FRSB, FEnv

Plenary Speaker

Prof. Olusegun G. Ademowo. PhD, FAvH (Germany)

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Stella I. Smith. PhD. FAvH (Germany)


WHO HEALPS US Our Sponsors